Back to All Families

ADAM AND AMY

All About Us:

Hello! We are Amy and Adam and we have been together for nine years, married for five. We are so excited for the possibility of adopting a child. It’s hard to imagine how difficult of a decision this must be for you, but please be reassured that if chosen we are a loving dedicated couple who would do anything and everything for our future child. Due to medical reasons, we are not able to conceive naturally or with IVF. While that has made us sad, we truly believe that family is those you love, it doesn’t have to be blood.

It was funny that we met during college, because we did not go to the same college. A good mutual friend of ours introduced us, and soon after that, we were inseparable. It was a long distance relationship for the first four years, only seeing each other on school breaks and some weekends, but it seemed to only make us stronger. Early on, we could tell that this relationship was forever. We are a Christian family, but don’t necessarily affiliate with a certain denomination. We really enjoy spending time with family and friends, playing games, and watching movies. On weekends, we occasionally volunteer at an animal shelter.

Amy:

Amy is an elementary music teacher, which is perfect because it combines her two loves, children and music. She sings with community choirs and is actively involved at her school. If she had to describe herself in 3 words it would be passionate, caring, and musical (of course). Amy has three brothers and one sister and is the oldest in her family.

Adam:

Adam is a computer engineer in a competitive field who loves to explore new technology. He is very proud of being an Eagle Scout. If he had to describe himself in 3 words it would be innovative, curious, and compassionate. He has two younger twin brothers.

Our Pets:

Our pets are part of our family, a two-year-old lab named Lily and our seven-year-old tabby cat Belle. Right now, Lily is a playful pup who loves to go on walks and to the dog park. She is very gentle, sweet, and loves everyone. Belle is a cuddly kitty who just wants to be in your lap. Like any cat, she is independent, but still wants to be with her people.

Our Home:

Our home is a 3-bedroom townhouse about an hour west of DC. Our neighborhood is very diverse, and located near many excellent schools. We have an open, finished basement that we are looking forward to turning into a playroom. There are many children in our neighborhood, and we have a playground close-by. We chose our neighborhood because of how kid-friendly it is, and how close it is to people we love.

Thoughts on Parenting:

Some things we are looking forward to doing with our future child are making music (singing, playing piano, etc.), reading together, doing activities outside, and watching them learn and explore the world. We want to raise them with a good understanding of right and wrong, and how to be a friend to everyone they meet. There is no such thing as perfect parents, but we plan on doing whatever is best for the child, no matter how hard it might be.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this and we hope that you will consider us to give your child a loving family, nurturing home, full of laughter and fun.

Sincerely,
Amy & Adam